Skip to main content

Africa and the Oslo Process to Ban Cluster Munitions

Cluster Munition Coalition Fact Sheet Prepared by Human Rights Watch

In Africa, nine countries are contaminated to some degree with cluster munition remnants. Nearly one-third of the locations where cluster munitions have been used globally are in Africa, and the majority of this use has occurred in the past 10 to 15 years. Two countries in Africa—Egypt and South Africa—have produced and exported cluster munitions. At least 14 countries from the region stockpile cluster munitions, and 13 countries have imported the weapon. A total of 34 countries from Africa agreed to adopt the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) in Dublin on May 30, 2008.

Your tax deductible gift can help stop human rights violations and save lives around the world.

Region / Country