Skip to main content

Overview of Cluster Munitions in Eastern Europe, the Caucasus, and Central Asia

Cluster Munition Coalition Fact Sheet Prepared by Human Rights Watch

In Eastern Europe, the Caucasus, and Central Asia, a total of 10 states are contaminated to some degree with cluster munition remnants. At least 19 states in the area are known to stockpile cluster munitions. Russia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia, and Slovakia have been associated with production of cluster munitions. Bulgaria, previously identified as a producer, claims to have never produced any type of cluster munition. A total of 15 states from the region agreed to adopt the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) in Dublin on May 30, 2008.

Your tax deductible gift can help stop human rights violations and save lives around the world.

Region / Country