Skip to main content

Cluster Munitions in the Middle East and North Africa

Cluster Munition Coalition Fact Sheet Prepared by Human Rights Watch

In the Middle East-North Africa region, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, and Israel have produced cluster munitions. Egypt and Israel have exported cluster munitions. At least fifteen states in the region have stockpiles of the weapon. Cluster munitions have been used in Iraq, Israel, Kuwait, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and the Western Sahara. A total of four states from the Middle East-North Africa region-Bahrain, Lebanon, Morocco, and Qatar- agreed to adopt the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) in Dublin on May 30, 2008.

Your tax deductible gift can help stop human rights violations and save lives around the world.