Santa Barbara Committee

Human Rights Watch established a presence in Southern California more than a decade ago, convinced that the unique population, influence and resources of the region could be mobilized to defend human rights around the world. In Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, a vibrant community of supporters are engaged in raising awareness of human rights abuses, building financial support for Human Rights Watch, and strengthening HRW's local research and advocacy.

The California Committee was co-founded in Los Angeles by Jane Olson and Stanley Sheinbaum in 1989, and expanded to Santa Barbara in 2005. Committee members make a financial commitment to Human Rights Watch and participate regularly in outreach events and advocacy campaigns.

Santa Barbara Committee
Executive Committee

Cheryl D. Justice, Co-Chair

Victoria Riskin, Co-Chair

Honorable Susan Rose, Co-Chair

Adrienne O'Donnell, Vice Chair

Benjamin J. Cohen
Donna-Christine McGuire
Rita Moya
Jane Olson
David W. Rintels
Karen Sinsheimer

Bruce Anticouni
Judy Anticouni
Richard Appelbaum
Marc Appleton
Roman Baratiak
Robert Bason
Gary Becker
Mary Becker
Lalla Brutoco
Rinaldo Brutoco
Laura Burton Capps
Phyllis de Picciotto
Leslie Dennis
Judy Egenolf
Rob Egenolf
Alyce Faye Eichelberger-Cleese
Nancy Englander
Larry Feinberg
Bill Felstiner
Christine Fletcher
William Fletcher
Carole Fox
Ron Fox
John Gabbert
Martha Gabbert
Diane Giles
Mike Giles
Brad Ginder
Kathie Gordon
Mike Gordon
Ken Grand
Annette Grant
Geoffrey Grant
Judith L. Hopkinson
Ann Hutchins
Madeleine Jacobson
Peter Jacobson
Luci Janssen
Richard Janssen
Barry Kemp
Margaret Kemp
Elaine Kendall
Herbert Kendall
Joanna Kerns
Nancy Walker Koppelman
Dorothy Largay
Kathleen Lavidge
Dr. Mark Leffert
Dr. Nancy Leffert
Nancy Lessner
Robert Lieff
Myrna Lord
Leatrice Luria
Alecia Mayrock
Elliot Mayrock
Sara Miller McCune
Michael McGuire
Sherry Melchiorre, Ph.D.
Laurence Miller
Shirley Miller
Steve Moya
Lynn Pearl
Melvin Pearl
Rebecca Riskin
Stan Roden
Regina Roney
Rick Roney
Lynn Shafer
Starr Siegele
Connie J. Smith
John Steed
Suzanne Steed
Bill Wagner
Sue Wagner
Bill Wayne
Judi Weisbart