Belgium Committee

The Human Rights Watch Belgium Committee, founded in October 2013 seeks to increase awareness of local and global human rights issues and gather support for basic rights for all. Committee members meet regularly to learn about human rights issues and policies and support Human Rights Watch through outreach, advocacy and fundraising initiatives.

Membership in the Human Rights Watch Belgium Committee provides an inside perspective on one of the most exciting and effective international human rights organizations. Belgium Committee members have access to regular briefings by Human Rights Watch researchers and staff, and informed observers. These sessions provide a unique and sophisticated perspective on breaking news and today’s most serious global problems. Belgium Committee members strengthen Human Rights Watch and its global defense of fundamental rights by contributing financially, attracting potential supporters, and promoting the organization’s message and concerns.

Belgium Executive Committee

Mr. Michael Gardner, Co-Chair
Mrs. Alexandra Van Campenhout, Co-Chair
Mr. Boris Vervoordt, Co-Chair
Mrs. Janneke Dreesmann-Beerkens,  Founding Chair
Mrs. Miene Gillion
Mr. Christophe Tanghe, Founding Chair
Mr. Johan Vandendriessche

Belgium Committee Members

Count and Countess Christophe d’Ansembourg
Mr. and Mrs. Harold Boël
Mrs. Isabelle Bosteels
Mr. and Mrs. Christian Cigrang
Mr. Marc Dreesmann
Mr. Philippe Gillion
Mr. Jacques Halpérin
Mr. and Mrs. David Lebard
Mr. and Mrs. Laurent Legein
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Leysen
Mr. Laurent Mercier
Mr. And Mrs. Amaury de Solages
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Spitaels
Viscount and Viscountess Rodolphe de Spoelberch
Mrs. Patricia Tanghe
Mr. Xavier Van Campenhout
Mrs. Griet Vandendriessche
Mr. and Mrs. Axel Vervoordt
Mr. and Mrs. Victor Zwart

(List as of April 2021)

Senior Director, Development and Outreach Belgium: Caroline Ceska
Associate, Development and Outreach Belgium: Manon Ngadi