Human Rights Watch established a presence in Southern California more than a decade ago, convinced that the unique population, influence and resources of the region could be mobilized to defend human rights around the world. In Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, a vibrant community of supporters are engaged in raising awareness of human rights abuses, building financial support for Human Rights Watch, and strengthening HRW's local research and advocacy.

The California Committee was co-founded in Los Angeles by Jane Olson and Stanley Sheinbaum in 1989, and expanded to Santa Barbara in 2005. Committee members make a financial commitment to Human Rights Watch and participate regularly in outreach events and advocacy campaigns.

Santa Barbara Committee
Executive Committee

Cheryl D. Justice, Co-Chair
Victoria Riskin, Co-Chair
Honorable Susan Rose, Co-Chair
Adrienne O'Donnell, Vice Chair
Benjamin J. Cohen
Kathleen Lavidge
Donna-Christine McGuire
Rita Moya
Jane Olson
David W. Rintels
Karen Sinsheimer
John Steed
D. William Wagner
Sue Aldrich Wagner

Bruce Anticouni
Judy Anticouni
Richard Appelbaum
Marc Appleton
Roman Baratiak
Gary Becker
Mary Becker
Lalla Brutoco
Rinaldo Brutoco
Laura Burton Capps
Phyllis de Picciotto
Leslie Dennis Tolan
Judy Egenolf
Rob Egenolf
Alyce Faye Eichelberger-Cleese
Nancy Englander
Larry Feinberg
Bill Felstiner
Christine Fletcher
William Fletcher
Carole Fox
Ron Fox
John Gabbert
Martha Gabbert
Diane Giles
Mike Giles
Brad Ginder
Kathie Gordon
Mike Gordon
Ken Grand
Annette Grant
Geoffrey Grant
Judith L. Hopkinson
Victoria Imperioli
Michael Imperioli
Madeleine Jacobson
Peter Jacobson
Luci Janssen
Richard Janssen
Barry Kemp
Margaret Kemp
Elaine Kendall
Herbert Kendall
Joanna Kerns
Nancy Walker Koppelman
Dorothy Largay
Dr. Mark Leffert
Dr. Nancy Leffert
Nancy Lessner
Peter Lewis
Gretchen Lieff
Robert Lieff
Leatrice Luria
Gwen Lurie
Nayla Mathis
Alecia Mayrock
Elliot Mayrock
Sara Miller McCune
Michael McGuire
Sherry Melchiorre, Ph.D.
Laurence Miller
Shirley Miller
Steve Moya
Lynn Pearl
Melvin Pearl
Erck Rickmers
Rebecca Riskin
Stan Roden
Regina Roney
Rick Roney
Lynn Shafer
Starr Siegele
Connie J. Smith
Suzanne Steed
Bill Wayne
Judi Weisbart
Diane Zipperstein
Steve Zipperstein