Los Angeles Committee

The Los Angeles Committee is a dedicated group of volunteers who support Human Rights Watch in Los Angeles through outreach, advocacy and fundraising. The Committee was founded in 1989 by Jane Olson and Stanley Sheinbaum, and includes more than 85 members in Los Angeles from a variety of backgrounds and professions. Members make a financial commitment to Human Rights Watch and meet regularly to learn about human rights issues, sponsor policy debates, and generate support for the organization and its mission.

The Los Angeles Committee (LAC) is part of the Human Rights Watch Council, a global network of individuals and committees across 33 cities in Asia, Europe, the Middle East, North America, and Brazil. Council members are active ambassadors for Human Rights Watch in their communities, providing us with a strong presence in key cities and countries. Composed of over 950 philanthropists, investors, and influencers from a variety of backgrounds, the Council is an informed and engaged constituency that plays a key role in our global defense of human rights.

To learn more about the Los Angeles Committee and how to join, contact our Southern California Senior Director, Justin Connolly or Senior Associate Director, Perrine Vaillant.

Executive Committee
Leslie Gilbert-Lurie Co-Chair
Rica Rodman, Co-Chair
Jonathan Feldman Vice Chair
Susi Bahat
Pam Bruns
Tamar R. Chafets
Dena Cook
Nancy Cushing-Jones Governance and Membership Chair
Gary Dartnall
Mary Garvey Advocacy Chair
Ramyne Khan Spire Film Club Co-Chair
Kimberly Marteau Emerson Co-Chair Emeritus
Miriam Muscarolas
David Ondaatje
Liz Ondaatje
Deborah S. Ramo
Lorraine Sheinberg
Barbara Silberbusch
Arthur F. Silbergeld
William D. Temko Co-Chair Emeritus
Patricia Williams
Jane Olson Co-Founder
Mike Farrell Co-Chair Emeritus 
Victoria Riskin Co-Chair Emeritus
Adam Wolman Film Club Co-Chair

Committee Members
Robert Abernethy
Aileen Adams
Patricia Artigas
Peter Blake
Terree A. Bowers 
Sarah Bowman
Kristin Ceva
Melanie Chapman
Maren Christensen
Geoffrey Cowan
George Davis
Kelly Davis
Ellen Carol DuBois
John Eisendrath
Trish Flumenbaum
William Flumenbaum
Laura Fox
Seth Freeman
Frank Gehry
Heather Grandy
Rick Grandy
Jane Gutman
Ahmos Hassan
Paul L. Hoffman
Kathy Hoss
Jihee Huh
Peter Huh
Elia Infascelli
Jordan Infascelli
David Johnson
Claudia Kahn
Richard Kendall
Kenneth Kim
Jeffrey Korchek
Reverend James Lawson Jr.
Shari Leinwand Co-Chair Emeritus
Jennifer Levin
Ronald S. Lushing
Steve Marenberg
Vicki Marmorstein
Brian Matthews
Barry Meyer
Alicia Miñana
Elaine Mitchell Attias
Stanley Newman
Jean Oppenheimer
Bradley S. Phillips
Tom Pollock
Zazi Pope
Sandy Pressman
Jim Ramo
Jason Rapp
Dan Reid
William Resnick
Seth Ribner
David W. Rintels
Ramona Ripston
Alexis Roach
Karen Roth
Erica Rothschild
Ben Rubinfeld
Butch Schuman
Marc M. Seltzer
Robert W. Shaffer, Jr.
Jon Sheinberg
Carol Silbergeld
Hannah Skvarla
Wendy Smith Meyer
Marcus Spiegel
Garry Spire
Michael Stubbs
Kaira Sturdivant Rouda 
Brigitte Suhr
Janet Unterman
Thomas Unterman
Marysol Velamoor
Liza Wachter
Bob Wagman 
Julie Waxman
Alison Whalen
Dr. Joan Willens Beerman
Chic Wolk
Edward A. Woods 
January Woods
Noah Wyle
Emily Zipperstein
Pardis Zomorodi

In Memoriam

Sid Sheinberg Co-Chair Emeritus