Chicago Committee

The Human Rights Watch Chicago Committee, formed in 2004, is part of a global network of regional support committees composed of opinion leaders from a variety of backgrounds. The committees constitute an informed and engaged constituency that is essential for the defense of human rights. They seek to increase awareness of local and global human rights issues and enlist the public and governments to support basic rights for all. Committee members meet regularly to learn about human rights crises and policies and support Human Rights Watch through outreach, advocacy, and fundraising initiatives. Members of the Chicago Committee strengthen Human Rights Watch by contributing financially to its work, attracting potential supporters, and promoting the organization’s message and concerns locally. Membership in the Human Rights Watch Chicago Committee provides an inside perspective on the most pressing human rights issues of the day. The Committee is focused on outreach, education, and advocacy with fundraising responsibility in Chicago. Members are asked to attend Committee meetings, participate regularly in Committee events, and join a subcommittee.

Chicago Committee
Founded 2004

Terri Abruzzo, Co-Chair
Shalini Sharma, Co-Chair

Judy Gaynor, Founding Co-Chair
Susan Manilow, Founding Co-Chair
Ellen Alberding, Chair Emerita
Elizabeth Cicchelli, Co-Chair Emerita
Margaret Duncan, Chair Emerita
Dedrea Gray, Co-Chair Emerita
Carolyn Grisko, Chair Emerita
William F. Mahoney, Chair Emeritus
Grace Newton, Chair Emerita

Lucy Ascoli
Edgar H. Bachrach
Mariah Balaban
Snjezana Barrack
Ellen Stone Belic
Marjorie Benton
Susan Berkowitz
David K. Callahan
Marcy Carlin
Fay Clayton
Mitchell Cobey
Linda Burns Coleman
Howard R. Conant, Jr.
Dolores Connolly
Judy Cottle
Susan Crown
Douglas Curtis
Jay Paul Deratany
Karen C. Ehlers
Janice Feinberg
Mimi Frankel
Maya Friedler
Clare Gallagher
Jill Garling
Monica George
Erika Gomez
Paul L. Gray
Susan R. Gzesh
Terence Halliday
Anne G. Helms
Rhona Hoffman
Monica Lee Hughson
Paul Ingersoll
Kyle Johnson
Jody Jones
Luke Karamyalil
Tony Karman
Mike J. Koldyke
Missy D. Lavender
John Lee
Liz K. Lefkofsky
Jonathan Lehman
Paul Lehman
Julie Lepri
Rosemarie Lizarraga
Rakesh Madhava
Amalia Perea Mahoney
Gail Marks
Gary Metzner
Maaria Mozaffar
Clark Pellett
Jennifer Pope
Mary Pounder
Dorothy M. Press
Sheridan Prior
Sheila Roche
Esther Saks
Karen Salmon
Smita Shah
Ronna Stamm
Cathy Stein
Anne Studzinski
Jeanne Sullivan
Dia S. Weil
G. Marc Whitehead
Judy Wise
Rachel Stevens Zakaria

Jonathan F. Fanton, Founding Member

Senior Director: Angela Deane
Associate Director: Rachel Shrock
Senior Associate: Gregory Hughes