قمع المجتمع المدني في مصر

  • بفعل حملة القمع الحكومية التي لا هوادة فيها يتقلّص المجتمع المدني في مصر بشكل مستمر. أتاح قانون تنظيم عمل المنظمات غير الحكومية في 2017 مستويات غير مسبوقة من القمع وسيجرّم عمل عديد من المنظمات غير الحكومية، ما يجعل عملها المستقل مستحيل.

    تحت ضغط وطني ودولي مستمر، طلب الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي مراجعة القانون في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2018، لكن من غير المرجح أن تحترم أي تعديلات الحق في حرية تكوين الجمعيات.

    المعلومات التي جمعناها هنا جزء من مشروع جديد لـ "هيومن رايتس ووتش" مخصّص للدفاع عن المجتمع المدني المصري. سننشر هنا كل أبحاثنا وتعليقاتنا حول آخر المستجدّات التي تؤثّر على المنظمات والنشطاء المستقلين في مصر.

    مصر: استهداف المجتمع المدني

    ملاحقات، إقفال، حظر سفر، أصول مجمدة... قمع مصر للمنظمات غير الحكومية بالأرقام.

    حتى قبل أن تُصدر الحكومة المصرية قانونها لعام 2017، قلصت حدّ الإغلاق المساحة المحدودة المتبقية للمنظمات المستقلة. تلاحق الحكومة بلا هوادة عشرات من موظفي المنظمات الحقوقية الرائدة في البلاد وتتهمهم عادة بـ "تلقي تمويل أجنبي". منعت الحكومة أكثر من 30 من المدافعين الحقوقيين البارزين من مغادرة البلاد وقد يؤخذون للسجون في أي لحظة.

    جمّدت السلطات أصول 7 منظمات حقوقية رائدة وأغلقت أخرى كما حلّت أكثر من 2,000 جمعية خيرية، وصادرت ممتلكاتها، بتهم متصلة بصلاتها بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين المحظورة. هذا الهجوم المستمر على المنظمات غير الحكومية وموظفيها قلّص بشدة المجال العام لما كان يوما مسرحا لمجتمع مدني نشط، حتى في خلال عقود رئاسة حسني مبارك الاستبدادية.

    تعتمد حكومة السيسي بشكل كبير على المساعدات الخارجية من عديد من الحكومات بما فيها من الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة والسعودية والإمارات، لكن القوانين القديمة والجديدة تجعل من المستحيل تقريبا على المنظمات غير الحكومية الحصول على تمويل أجنبي. يتعرض موظفو المنظمات التي تتلقى تمويلا أجنبيا للملاحقة القضائية التي قد تؤدي إلى السجن مدى الحياة.

    على السلطات المصرية إيقاف جميع التحقيقات الجنائية القائمة مع المنظمات غير الحكومية بسبب قيامها بعملها وإلغاء قانون 2017 بموجب التزاماتها المحلية والدولية لحماية حرية تكوين الجمعيات.

    على الحكومات التي لها علاقات مع مصر، وخاصة تلك التي تموّلها، أن ترفع صوتها الآن لمنع اختفاء المنظمات المستقلة غير الحكومية.

Egypt Crackdown on Civil Society

Egypt’s civil society is shrinking under relentless government crackdown. A 2017 law regulating nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) has ushered in unprecedented levels of repression and will criminalize the work of many NGOs, making it impossible for them to function independently.

Under persistent national and international pressure, President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi asked for revision of the law in November 2018, but it’s unlikely that any revisions will respect the right to free association.

The information we have compiled here is part of a new Human Rights Watch project dedicated to defending Egyptian civil society. We will post all of our research and commentary   here about the latest developments affecting independent organizations and activists in Egypt.

Even before Egypt’s government issued its 2017 law, it had squeezed shut whatever limited space remained for independent organizations. The government has relentlessly been prosecuting scores of staff members of the country’s leading human rights organizations, typically by charging them with “receiving foreign funds.” The government banned more than 30 of the country’s leading human rights defenders from leaving the country and threatens to jail them at any moment.

The authorities have frozen the assets of seven leading human rights organizations and shut down others. The authorities have also dissolved over 2,000 charity organizations, confiscating their assets, on charges that they have links to the banned Muslim Brotherhood. This non-stop assault on non-governmental organizations and their staff has severely shrunk public sphere for what was once a vibrant civil society scene, even during the decades of Hosni Mubarak’s autocratic presidency.

While al-Sisi’s government depends heavily on foreign aid from many governments such as the EU, the US, Saudi Arabia and the UAE, old and new laws make it nearly impossible for non-government organizations to obtain foreign funding. The staff of organizations that receive foreign funds risk prosecution that could lead to a life sentence.

Egyptian authorities should drop all existing criminal investigations into nongovernmental groups for doing their work and repeal the 2017 law in accordance with its domestic and international obligations to protect freedom of association.

Governments with ties to Egypt, particularly those that fund it, should speak up now to prevent the disappearance of independent, non-governmental groups.

News