2021 世界人权报告

一年一度检视全球人权状况

《 2021世界人权报告》,人权观察发表的第31份年度报告,检视全球人权实践与趋势以及百余国发展现况。

在导论中,执行长肯尼思・罗斯(Kenneth Roth)呼吁即将上任的美国政府应更加尊重人权,将其作为国内外政策的一环,以防​​近几十年每当白宫易主就会发生的「人权政策大震荡」。罗斯强调,即便特朗普政府在很大程度上弃守对人权的保护,与中、俄等国同流合污,但同时有其他国家挺身而出——多以结盟形式、包括新加入者——捍卫人权。拜登政府在努力加强人权保护时,应寻求加入而非取代这一新的集体事业。

该报告反映人权观察同仁在2020年进行的调查工作——通常得到相关国家维权人士的密切合作。它也反映我们倡议部门的工作,该部门监督政策发展,努力劝说各国政府和国际机构遏止暴行、促进人权。

和往年一样,《世界人权报告》并未包含人权观察研究的每一个国家或每一项重要议题。特定国家或议题的缺席,通常只是人力局限的反映,与问题的重要性无关。有许多严重的侵犯人权行为,确实超出人权观察的能力所及。

今年度《世界人权报告》将作为丹・包姆(Dan Baum)和米琪・史匹格(Mickey Spiegel)的纪念,我们在2020年失去这两位亲爱的同事,但没有一刻忘记他们。

World Report 2021

Our annual review of human rights around the globe

World Report 2021, Human Rights Watch’s 31st annual review of human rights practices and trends around the globe, reviews developments in more than 100 countries.

In his introductory essay, Executive Director Kenneth Roth calls on the incoming US administration to more deeply embed respect for human rights as an element of domestic and foreign policy to counter the “wild oscillations in human rights policy” that in recent decades have come with each new resident of the White House. Roth emphasizes that even as the Trump administration mostly abandoned the protection of human rights, joined by China, Russia and others, other governments—typically working in coalition and some new to the cause—stepped forward to champion rights. As it works to entrench rights protections, the Biden administration should seek to join, not supplant, this new collective effort.

The report reflects investigative work that Human Rights Watch staff undertook in 2020, usually in close partnership with human rights activists in the country in questions. It also reflects the work of our advocacy team, which monitors policy developments and strives to persuade governments and international institutions to curb abuses and promote human rights.

As in past years, the World Report does not include a chapter on every country where Human Rights Watch works, nor does it discuss every issue of importance. The absence of a particular country or issues often simply reflects staffing limitations and should not be taken as commentary on the significance of the problem. They are many serious human rights violations that Human Rights Watch simply lacks the capacity to address.

This year’s World Report is dedicated to the memory of Dan Baum and Mickey Spiegel, beloved colleagues whom we lost in 2020 but remember every day.

Download
Purchase