Entrenching Impunity
Government Responsibility for International Crimes in Darfur

Annex 1: Partial list of individuals who should be investigated by the ICC

This list is not a comprehensive list of all individuals potentially liable for crimes in Darfur. It is presented as a summary of those individuals named in this report and recommended for investigation by the ICC, but additional individuals not named in this report should also be investigated and prosecuted for crimes in Darfur.

National Officials

  • President Omar El Bashir
  • Second Vice-President Ali Osman Taha: Former First Vice-President until late-2005.
  • Maj. Gen. Abduraheem M. Hussein: Former minister of the interior and representative of the president for Darfur, 2003-2004, now minister of defense.
  • Maj. Gen. Bakri Hassan Salih: Former minister of defense, now minister for presidential affairs.
  • Abbas Arabi:  Chief of Staff of the Sudanese armed forces.
  • Gen. Salah Abdallah Ghosh: Director of Security and Military Intelligence.
  • Ahmed Haroun: Former state minister of the interior, responsible for Darfur portfolio within the Ministry of the Interior, now state minister for humanitarian affairs.

Current or former regional officials

The individuals listed below are included because, as described in the text of the report, they are or were the senior government officials in their districts or states when crimes amounting to war crimes or crimes against humanity were committed by government forces.

  • Al Tayeb Abdullah Torshain: Former commissioner of Mukjar, 2003-2005.
  • Al Haj Attar Al Mannan Idris: Governor of South Darfur , mid-2004 to present.
  • Ja’afar Abdel el Hakh: Commissioner of Garsila until April 2004, now governor of West Darfur.
  • Maj. Gen. Adam Hamid Musa: Governor of South Darfur, 2003 to mid-2004.
  • Maj. Gen. Abdallah Safi el Nour: Retired air force pilot and former governor of North Darfur, 2000-2001, and national minister in Khartoum 2003-2004. Allegedly involved in directing air operations and in the supply of arms to the militias.

Military commanders

  • Brig.-Gen. Ahmed Al Hajir Mohammed: Commander of the 16th Infantry Division forces used in the attacks on the villages of Marla, Ishma, and Labado in December 2004.
  • Maj. Gen. Al Hadi Adam Hamid: Chief of “border guards”; key liaison to Janjaweed militias.
  • Lt. Col. Abdul Wahid Said Ali Said:  Commander of the 2nd Border Intelligence Brigade based in Misteriya, which supports military operations in and around Kebkabiya.
  • Maj. Gaddal Fadlallah: Commander in Kutum whose forces are responsible for numerous attacks on civilians, destruction of villages, and looting of civilian property.

Militia leaders

  • “Abu Ashreen”: This is the nickname or nom de guerre of Abdullah Saleh Sabeel, a forty-eight-year-old Beni Hussein from Sareef, in the Kebkabiya area. He also occasionally uses the name Abdullah Dagash. He is related to Nazir El Ghadi Adam Hamid, the brother of Maj. Gen. Al Hadi Adam Hamid. He has the rank of either corporal (arif) or sergeant (raqib), and leads a militia based in Kebkabiya.
  • Sheikh Musa Hilal: Numerous eyewitnesses place Hilal at the scene of different attacks in North Darfur in which serious crimes, including rape, murder and torture, were committed. Numerous eyewitnesses, including former members of the Sudanese armed forces, also identify Hilal as a key militia recruiter and coordinator.
  • “Ali Kosheib”: This is the nickname or nom de guerre of Ali Mohammed Ali.  He was one of the key leaders of the attacks on villages around Mukjar, Bindisi, and Garsila in 2003-2004. Several eyewitnesses recognized him as one of the commanders of the operations in March 2004 in which several hundred men were executed around Deleig, Garsila, and Mukjar.
  • Mustapha Abu Nuba: Tribal leader of a Riziegat sub-clan in South Darfur. Allegedly responsible for numerous attacks on villages in South Darfur, including the attack on and looting of Kaila.
  • Nazir Al Tijani Abdel Kadir. Tribal leader of the Misseriya militia based in Niteiga, South Darfur. Allegedly responsible for the attack on the village of Khor Abeche on April 7, 2005, and other attacks in the area.
  • Mohammed Hamdan.  Riziegat militia leader involved in Adwah attack and looting in November 2004.

Go to top