Previous PageTable Of Contents


Information presented in this report was gathered by Anneke Van Woudenberg and Carina Tertsakian, senior researchers in the Africa Division of Human Rights Watch.

The report was written by Anneke Van Woudenberg and edited by Alison Des Forges, Senior Advisor to the Africa Division, Peter Takirambudde, executive director of the Africa Division and Carina Tertsakian. The report was reviewed by Iain Levine, program director; Janet Fleishman, Washington Director for Africa; Pascal Kambale, counsel in the International Justice program; Tony Tate, Researcher in the Children's Rights division; and James Ross who provided legal review. Production assistance and coordination was provided by Jeff Scott, Kate Fletcher, Floriane Begasse, associates in the Africa division; Patrick Minges, publications director; and Veronica Mathushaj, Photo Editor and Associate Director. Anne Fonteneau translated this report into French.

We wish to thank our colleagues in northeastern DRC, who risk their lives to defend the rights of others, for their commitment and assistance. We greatly appreciate all those who took the time and courage to speak to our researchers, in particular those who had themselves been the victims of abuse.

Human Rights Watch
Africa Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold
political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international
human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Rory Mungoven, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Joe Saunders, interim program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Africa division was established in 1988 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in sub-Saharan Africa. Peter Takirambudde is the executive director; Bronwen Manby is the deputy director; Janet Fleischman is the Washington director; Alison Des Forges is the senior adviser; Suliman Ali Baldo and Alex Vines are senior researchers; Binaifer Nowrojee and Jemera Rone are counsels; Carina Tertsakian and Lars Waldorf are researchers; Juliane Kippenberg is the NGO Liaison; Caroline Conway, Chiwoniso Kaitano, and Jeff Scott are associates; Corinne Dufka, Sara Rakita, and Tony Tate are consultants. Vincent Mai is the chair of the advisory committee.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To receive Human Rights Watch news releases by email, subscribe to the HRW news listserv by sending a blank e-mail message to

Previous PageTable Of Contents