Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report was written by Emily Harwell, Alan R. Finberg Fellow in the Asia Division. Joseph Saunders, deputy Program director, and Cynthia Brown, Arvind Ganesan and Mike Jendrzejczyk edited the report. Jim Ross provided legal review. Sidney Jones and Chris Barr provided valuable comments. Production assistance was provided by Jonathan Horowitz, Patrick Minges, and Liz Weiss.

Although for their safety they cannot be named here, Human Rights Watch is deeply indebted to all those in Indonesia who were generous with their time and information in researching this report. Their collaboration made this document possible. In addition, we thank Global Forest Watch, World Resource Institute, Art Blundell, CIFOR, and Lesley Potter for help with maps.

Human Rights Watch is deeply grateful to the Richard and Rhoda Goldman Fund and the Ruben and Elisabeth Rausing Trust, which provided generous funding for the research and writing of this report.

Human Rights Watch
Asia Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold
political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international
human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Michael McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Asia division was established in 1985 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in Asia. Brad Adams is the Executive Director, Mike Jendrzejczyk is the Washington Director; Widney Brown is the Acting Deputy Director; Smita Narula, Sara Colm and Mickey Spiegel are Senior Researchers; Meg Davis and Charmain Mohamed are Researchers; Emily Harwell is a Fellow; Liz Weiss and Ami Evangelista are associates. Joanne Leedom-Ackerman is Acting Chairperson of the advisory committee and Orville Schell is Vice-Chair.

Web Site Address:

Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents