Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report is based on a research mission conducted in Ingushetia in June and July 2001 by Diederik Lohman, director of the Moscow office of Human Rights Watch; Alexander Petrov, deputy director of the Moscow office of Human Rights Watch; Johanna Bjorken and Arsen Sakalov, consultants. It was written by Diederik Lohman and edited by Cynthia Brown. Human Rights Watch Deputy Program Director Michael McClintock, Senior Legal Advisor James Ross, and Veronika Leila Szente Goldston, advocacy director for the Europe and Central Asia division of Human Rights Watch, also edited this report. Invaluable editorial assistance was provided by Liuda Belova, Elizabeth Eagen, Maria Pulzetti, and Rachel Bien, associates in the Europe and Central Asia Division of Human Rights Watch, as well as by Anna Neistat, researcher at Human Rights Watch's Europe and Central Asia Division. Human Rights Watch also thanks our Ingushetia colleagues, without whom we would not have been able to conduct the research for this report.

We are deeply grateful to the Memorial Human Rights Center for their contributions to this report and their collegiality, in Moscow and in Ingushetia.

Most of all, we wish to express our gratitude to those who agreed to share their stories with us, despite their fears of possible consequences. Many braved genuine danger to travel to Ingushetia to be interviewed by Human Rights Watch researchers. We hope that this report will contribute to ending the abuses faced by them and their loved ones, and bringing those responsible for torture and other abuses to justice.

Human Rights Watch gratefully acknowledges the Carnegie Corporation for their generous support. We are also grateful for the support of the Bernard Osher Foundation, whose generosity funds the Osher Scholars Program at Human Rights Watch and supported research for this report.

Human Rights Watch
Europe and Central Asia Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold
political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international
human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Michael McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Europe and Central Asia division was established in 1978 to monitor and promote domestic and international compliance with the human rights provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. It is affiliated with the International Helsinki Federation for Human Rights, which is based in Vienna, Austria. Elizabeth Andersen is the executive director; Rachel Denber is the deputy director; Veronika Leila Szente Goldston is the advocacy director; Alexander Anderson, Matilda Bogner, Julia Hall, Bogdan Ivanisevic, Anna Niestat, Darian Pavli, Acacia Shields, and Jonathan Sugden are researchers; Diederik Lohman is the Moscow office director; Alexander Petrov is the Deputy Moscow office director; Johanna Bjorken, Julie Chadbourne, Marie Struthers, and Benjamin Ward are consultants; Liudmila Belova, Rachel Bien, Elizabeth Eagen, Giorgi Gogia, Ani Mason, Rebecca Milligan and Maria Pulzetti are associates. Peter Osnos is the chair of the advisory committee and Alice Henkin is vice chair.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to
with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents