December 19, 2007

Destroying Legality

Pakistan's Crackdown on Lawyers and Judges

Map of Pakistan
I. Summary
II. Methodology
III. Background
The Lawyers' Movement for Judicial Independence..
The judiciary and Musharraf
IV. Laws Used To Detain Protestors
Maintenance of Public Order Ordinance (1960)
Anti-Terrorism Act, 1997
The "Sedition Law" Section 124-A of the Pakistan Penal Code..
V. Amendments to Laws Under Emergency Rule
Ordinance LXVI of 2007 to amend the Pakistan Army Act, 1952
Ordinance LXIX of 2007 to amend the Legal Practitioners and Bar Councils Act,1973
Constitution (Amendment) Order, 2007 (President's Order No. 5 of 2007)
VI. Beatings, Mistreatment and Arbitrary Detention of Lawyers
Other cities
Leaders of the Lawyers' Movement
VII. Judges Under Detention
Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry
Justice Rana Bhagwandas
Justice Khalilur Rehman Ramday
VIII. Conclusion
IX. Recommendations
To the Government of Pakistan..
To the international community
X. Acknowledgements