c 1990 by Human Rights Watch

All rights reserved

Printed in the United States of America

HUMAN RIGHTS WATCH

Human Rights Watch was established by the Fund for Free Expression and is composed of five Watch Committees: Africa Watch, Americas Watch, Asia Watch, Helsinki Watch and Middle East Watch.

Executive Committee: Robert L. Bernstein, Chairman; Adrian W. DeWind, Vice Chairman; Roland Algrant, Dorothy Cullman, Jack Greenberg, Alice H. Henkin, Stephen Kass, Jeri Laber\*, Aryeh Neier\*, Matthew Nimetz, Bruce Rabb, Kenneth Roth\*
\*ex officio

Staff: Aryeh Neier, Executive Director; Kenneth Roth, Deputy Director; Holly J. Burkhalter, Washington Representative; Susan Osnos, Press Director

485 Fifth Avenue1522 K Street N.W.

New York NY 10017Washington DC 20005

212-972-8400202-371-6592