Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report was researched and written by Bonnie Docherty, Schell Fellow for the Arms Division of Human Rights Watch. It was edited by Joost Hiltermann, executive director of the Arms Division. It was reviewed by Michael McClintock, deputy program director of Human Rights Watch, and James Ross, senior legal adviser of Human Rights Watch. Research assistance was provided by Caroline Conway, research intern for the Arms Division. Production assistance was provided by Charli Wyatt, associate with the Arms Division. Patrick Minges, publications director for Human Rights Watch, and Fitzroy Hepkins, mail manager, made possible the production of the report.

Human Rights Watch: Mission Statement

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Michael McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Jemera Rone, counsel; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, general counsel; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Human Rights Watch
Arms Division

The Arms Division was established in 1992 to monitor and prevent arms transfers to governments or organizations that commit gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and the rules of war and promote freedom of information regarding arms transfers worldwide. Joost R. Hiltermann is the executive director; Stephen D. Goose is the program director; William M. Arkin is the senior military advisor; Mary Wareham is the senior advocate; Mark Hiznay and Alex Vines are the senior researchers; Lisa Misol and Reuben E. Brigety, II are researchers; Hannah Novak and Charli Wyatt are the associates; Bonnie Docherty is the Schell Fellow; Monica Schurtman is a consultant. Torsten N. Wiesel is the chair of the advisory committee and Nicole Ball, David Brown, and Vincent McGee are the vice-chairs.

Web Site Address:

Listserv addresses:
To subscribe to the Human Rights Watch list, send a blank email to with "subscribe hrw-news" in the subject line.

Previous PageTable Of Contents