Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report was written on the basis of field research carried out in Ankara, Diyarbakir and southeast Turkey in June and July 2001, and through further telephone and written inquiries carried out through August 2002. The information was gathered from interviews with displaced people, members
of the Turkish parliament, government officials, and nongovernmental specialists. The report was written by Human Rights Watch Turkey Researcher Jonathan Sugden, who carried out the preliminary research, and edited by Elizabeth Andersen, executive director of the Europe and Central Asia division of Human Rights Watch, Rachael Reilly, Refugee Policy Director at Human Rights Watch, James Ross, Senior Legal Advisor for Human Rights Watch, and Ian Gorvin, Human Rights Watch Deputy Program Director. Supplemental research was also contributed by Pinar Araz. Invaluable production assistance was provided by Dorit Radzin, associate, Human Rights Watch.

Human Rights would like to acknowledge and thank the many individuals whose contributions made this report possible.

Human Rights Watch
Europe and Central Asia Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold
political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international
human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development and outreach director; Rory Mungoven, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance and administration director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Joe Saunders, interim program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Europe and Central Asia division was established in 1978 to monitor and promote domestic and
international compliance with the human rights provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. It is affiliated
with the International Helsinki Federation for Human Rights, which is based in Vienna, Austria. Elizabeth Andersen is the executive director; Rachel Denber is the deputy director; Veronika Leila Szente Goldston is the advocacy director; Alexander Anderson, Matilda Bogner, Julia Hall, Bogdan Ivanisevic, Diederik Lohman, Darian Pavli, Acacia Shields, and Jonathan Sugden are researchers; Anna Neistat is the Moscow office director; Sasha Petrov is the Deputy Moscow office Director; Julie Chadbourne, Marie Struthers, and Demetra Kasimis are consultants; Jane Buchanan is a fellow; Lyuda Belova,Leslie Smith, Emily Letts, Giorgi Gogia, Dorit Radzin, and Ole Estein Solvang are associates. Peter Osnos is the chair of the advisory committee and Alice Henkin is vice chair.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to
with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

[B: I'll get help inserting the standard info. here]

Previous PageTable Of Contents