Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report was researched by Joanne Csete, director of the HIV/AIDS and Human Rights Program, and Smita Narula, senior researcher of the Asia Division of Human Rights Watch, and written by Joanne Csete. Smita Narula, Malcolm Smart, program director; Widney Brown, acting director, Asia Division; and James Ross, senior legal advisor, edited the report. Patrick Minges, Fitzroy Hepkins, and Tommy Yeh of Human Rights Watch provided production assistance.

We thank the courageous HIV/AIDS workers and others who shared their stories with us in India many of whom are acknowledged by name in the report. In addition, we are grateful for technical advice and support to Smita Pamar, international program director of the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, Puja Dhawan, a consultant to Human Rights Watch, Sridhar Venkatapuram and Ritu Chattree.

We are grateful for the assistance of the John M. Lloyd Foundation and a generous anonymous donor in supporting this work.

Human Rights Watch
Asia Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold
political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international
human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Michael McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Asia division was established in 1985 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in Asia. Mike Jendrzejczyk is the Acting Executive Director; Widney Brown is the Acting New York Director; Smita Narula, Sara Colm and Mickey Spiegel are Senior Researchers; Emily Harwell is a Fellow; Liz Weiss and Wen-hua Yang are associates. Joanne Leedom-Ackerman is Acting Chairperson of the advisory committee and Orville Schell is Vice-Chair.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to
with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents