Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report was researched and written by Suliman Baldo, senior researcher at the Africa Division of Human Rights Watch, and Peter Bouckaert, Human Rights Watch senior researcher for emergencies. The report was edited by Peter Takirambudde, executive director of the Africa Division, Alison Des Forges, senior advisor for the Great Lakes, Joanna Weschler, U.N. representative for Human Rights Watch, Kenneth Roth, executive director of Human Rights Watch, and Ian Gorvin, consultant to the Program Office. Dinah PoKemper, general counsel, provided legal review. Jeffrey Scott, associate for the Africa Division, Patrick Minges, publication director, and Fitzroy Hepkins, mail manager, provided coordination and production assistance.

All photos © 2002 Network of Human Rights and Civic Organizations of Christian Inspiration (Réseau d'Organisations des Droits Humains et d'Education Civique d'Inspiration Chrétienne)

We would like to thank the many Congolese, whose names we cannot publish for their own safety, who provided information for this report.

Human Rights Watch

Africa Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold

political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international

human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Michael McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; Dinah PoKempner, general counsel; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Africa division was established in 1988 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in sub-Saharan Africa. Peter Takirambudde is the executive director; Bronwen Manby is the deputy director; Janet Fleischman is the Washington director; Alison Des Forges is the senior adviser; Suliman Ali Baldo is the senior researcher; Binaifer Nowrojee and Jemera Rone are counsels; Carina Tertsakian and Lars Waldorf are researchers; Juliane Kippenberg is the NGO Liaison; Jeff Scott is the associate; Corinne Dufka and Sara Rakita are consultants. Vincent Mai is the chair of the advisory committee.

Web Site Address:

Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to

with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents