Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report is based on an investigation by two consultants to the Arms Division of Human Rights Watch, Robin Bhatty and David Hoffman, in 1999. Follow-up research was conducted by Mr. Bhatty. The report was written by Mr. Bhatty and Mr. Hoffman. The report was edited by Cynthia Brown, a consultant to Human Rights Watch, and by Joost Hiltermann, executive director of the Arms Division. It was reviewed by Michael McClintock, the deputy program director of Human Rights Watch; James Ross, senior legal adviser of Human Rights Watch; and Vikram Parekh, researcher in the Asia Division. Human Rights Watch also gratefully acknowledges review of an early version of the report by Barnett R. Rubin and Paula R. Newberg; they are in no way responsible for its content. Production assistance and research support was provided by Charli Wyatt, Associate with the Arms Division. Patrick Minges, Publications Director for Human Rights Watch, and Fitzroy Hepkins, Mail Manager, made possible the production of the report.

The Arms Division of Human Rights Watch acknowledges with appreciation the support of the Compton Foundation, the Overbrook Foundation, and individual donors on its Advisory Committee. Human Rights Watch takes sole responsibility for the contents of this report.

Human Rights Watch: Mission Statement

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John P. Green, operations director; Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Jeri Laber, special advisor; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Mike McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Jemera Rone, counsel; James Ross, senior legal advisor; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Human Rights Watch
Arms Division

The Arms Division was established in 1992 to monitor and prevent arms transfers to governments or organizations that commit gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and the rules of war and promote freedom of information regarding arms transfers worldwide. Joost R. Hiltermann is the executive director; Stephen D. Goose is the program director; William M. Arkin is the senior military advisor; Mary Wareham is the senior advocate; Mark Hiznay is the senior researcher; Lisa Misol and Alex Vines are researchers; Hannah Novak and Charli Wyatt are the associates; Monica Schurtman is a consultant. Torsten N. Wiesel is the chair of the advisory committee and Nicole Ball, David Brown, and Vincent McGee are the vice-chairs.

Web Site Address:

Previous PageTable Of Contents