Previous PageTable Of Contents

Recent Reports 
 Support HRW 
About HRW
Site Map

Human Rights Watch - Home Page


This report was written by Vikram Parekh, researcher with the Asia Division of Human Rights Watch, based on research conducted by Hasan Mujtaba, a consultant to Human Rights Watch.
The report was edited by Joe Saunders, deputy director of the Asia division of Human Rights Watch, Smita Narula, senior researcher with the Asia Division of Human Rights Watch, and Karin Deutsch-Karlekar, a consultant to Human Rights Watch. Production assistance was provided by Michael Bochenek, counsel to Human Rights Watch, Adam Bassine and Liz Weiss, associates with the Asia division of Human Rights Watch,  and Sahr MuhammedAlly. 

We are grateful to all those in Pakistan who spoke with us about individual cases, and to the journalists, NGO representatives, and others in Pakistan who assisted us in gathering documention for this report.

Human Rights Watch
Asia Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protection the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.

We enlist the public and international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; Malcolm Smart, program director; Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Jeri Laber, special advisor; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Jemera Rone, counsel; Wilder Taylor, general counsel; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Asia division was established in 1985 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in Asia. Sidney Jones is the executive director; Mike Jendrzejczyk is the Washington director; Joe Saunders is the deputy director; Jeannine Guthrie is NGO liason; Smita Narula is senior researcher; Sara Colm, Vikram Parekh, Gary Risser, and Jan van der Made are researchers; Mickey Spiegel is a research consultant; Liz Weiss and Adam Bassine are associates. Andrew J. Nathan is chair of the advisory committee and Orville Schell is vice chair.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list send an e-mail message to with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents