Previous PageTable Of ContentsNext Page


This report was researched and written by Christopher Panico, then a research associate in the Europe and Central Asia division of Human Rights Watch, based on a mission to Greece in September 1997. The report was edited by Holly Cartner, executive director of the Europe and Central Asia division of Human Rights Watch, Jeri Laber, Senior Advisor to Human Rights Watch, and parts were edited by Elizabeth Andersen, Advocacy Director. Invaluable production assistance was provided by Alexander Frangos, Alexandra Perina, and Josh Sherwin, associates, Human Rights Watch.

Human Rights Watch would like to express our deep appreciation to the Greek Helsinki Monitor/Minority Rights Group, and in particular to Panayote Dimitras and Nafsika Papanikolatos, who participated in the factfinding mission, shared their own research, and provided invaluable assistance, guidance, and comment on the draft report. We would also like to thank the many individuals who gave testimony for this report, as well as lawyers, journalists, and government officials in Greece who provided information for this report.

Human Rights Watch
Europe and Central Asia Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; Cynthia Brown, program director; Barbara Guglielmo, finance and administration director; Jeri Laber, special advisor; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Susan Osnos, associate director; Jemera Rone, counsel; Wilder Tayler, general counsel; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Europe and Central Asia division was established in 1978 to monitor and promote domestic and international compliance with the human rights provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. It is affiliated with the International Helsinki Federation for Human Rights, which is based in Vienna, Austria. Holly Cartner is the executive director; Rachel Denber is the deputy director; Elizabeth Andersen is the advocacy director; Fred Abrahams, Cassandra Cavanaugh, Julia Hall, Malcolm Hawkes, Bogdan Ivanisevic, André Lommen, and Diane Paul are research associates; Diederik Lohman is the Moscow office director, Alexander Petrov is the assistant Moscow office director; Pamela Gomez is the Caucasus office director; Marie Struthers is the Dushanbe office director; Acacia Shields is coordinator for Central Asia/Caucasus; and Liudmila Belova, Alex Frangos, Alexandra Perina, and Josh Sherwin are associates. Peter Osnos is the chair of the advisory committee and Alice Henkin is vice chair.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to with “subscribe hrw-news” in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of ContentsNext Page