The report was written by Binaifer Nowrojee, counsel to Human Rights Watch/Africa. The refugee section was co-authored with Alison Parker, consultant to Human Rights Watch/Africa. The sections on the military, the demobilization of soldiers, and the international response were co-authored with Kokayi Issa, former Leonard H. Sandler Fellow. The report was edited by Peter Takirambudde, executive director of Human Rights Watch/Africa and Wilder Tayler, general counsel. Relevant sections were edited by Joanna Weschler, U.N. representative to Human Rights Watch; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Regan Ralph, Washington director, Human Rights Watch/Women's Rights Project; and Lois Whitman, executive director, Human Rights Watch/Children's Rights Project. Invaluable production assistance was provided by Associate Ariana Pearlroth.

Human Rights Watch/Africa

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Susan Osnos, associate director; Michele Alexander, development director; Cynthia Brown, program director; Barbara Guglielmo, finance and administration director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Jeri Laber, special advisor; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Susan Osnos, communications director; Jemera Rone, counsel; Wilder Tayler, general counsel; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Robert L. Bernstein is the chair of the board and Adrian W. DeWind is vice chair.

Its Africa division was established in 1988 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in sub-Saharan Africa. Peter Takirambudde is the executive director; Janet Fleischman is the Washington director; Suliman Ali Baldo is the senior researcher; Alex Vines is the research associate; Bronwen Manby and Binaifer Nowrojee are counsels; Ariana Pearlroth and Juliet Wilson are associates; Alison DesForges is a consultant; and Peter Bouckaert is the Orville Schell Fellow. William Carmichael is the chair of the advisory committee.

Web Site Address:

Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).