Previous PageTable Of Contents


Research for this report was conducted by Darlene Miller, fellow in the Africa Division of Human Rights Watch, Bronwen Manby, deputy director of the Africa Division, and Peter Bouckaert, emergencies researcher for Human Rights Watch. It was written by Bronwen Manby, with contributions from Darlene Miller. Peter Takirambudde, executive director of the Africa Division, and Michael McClintock, deputy program director of Human Rights Watch, edited the report, which was also reviewed by Wilder Tayler, general counsel to Human Rights Watch and Rumbi Mabuwa, researcher in the Women's Rights Division. Production and coordination assistance was provided by Jeffrey Scott, Patrick Minges, and Fitzroy Hepkins.

Human Rights Watch would like to thank the Zimbabwean nongovernmental organizations that assisted in carrying out the research on which this report is based, in particular Zimrights, Amani Trust, and the Women and Land Lobby Group (WLLG). Thanks also to Abby Mgugu, director of WLLG, for comments on a draft of the report. We would also like to thank all those witnesses or victims who spoke to us despite the substantial risks of testifying to human rights groups about abuses in the current climate in Zimbabwe.

This report was made possible in part by a gift from Jean-Christophe Castelli, in memory of Ludovic Trarieux (1840-1904), Dreyfusard and co-founder of the League of the Rights of Man, 1898.

Human Rights Watch
Africa Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold
political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international
human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; John T. Green, operations director, Barbara Guglielmo, finance director; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Michael McClintock, deputy program director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Maria Pignataro Nielsen, human resources director; Malcolm Smart, program director; Wilder Tayler, legal and policy director; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Africa division was established in 1988 to monitor and promote the observance of internationally recognized human rights in sub-Saharan Africa. Peter Takirambudde is the executive director; Bronwen Manby is the deputy director; Janet Fleischman is the Washington director; Alison Des Forges is the senior adviser; Suliman Ali Baldo and Alex Vines are senior researchers; Binaifer Nowrojee and Jemera Rone are counsels; Carina Tertsakian and Lars Waldorf are researchers; Juliane Kippenberg is the NGO Liaison; Caroline Conway, Chiwoniso Kaitano, and Jeff Scott are associates; Corinne Dufka, Sara Rakita, and Tony Tate are consultants. Vincent Mai is the chair of the advisory committee.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to with
"subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents