Canada Committee

The Canada Committee seeks to increase awareness of local and global human rights issues and enlist the public and governments to support basic rights for all. Committee members meet regularly to learn about human rights crises and policies and support Human Rights Watch through outreach, education and fundraising initiatives.

Membership in the Human Rights Watch Canada Committee provides an inside perspective on one of the most exciting and effective international organizations. Founded in 2002, the Canada Committee is composed of more than 50 opinion leaders from a variety of backgrounds. It was launched out of the belief that an informed and engaged constituency is essential for the defense of fundamental freedoms.

Canada Committee members have access to regular briefings by Human Rights Watch investigators, senior government officials, and informed observers. These sessions provide a unique and sophisticated perspective on breaking news and today’s most serious global problems. Canada Committee members strengthen Human Rights Watch and its global defense of essential liberties by contributing financially, attracting potential supporters, and promoting the organization’s message and concerns.

Chair: Donna Slaight
Director: Jasmine Herlt
Development Officer: Alison Thornton
Associate: Danielle Foster

Suresh Bhalla
Lindsay Blakely
Beth Burgess
Sean Carter
Matt Cammaert
Meredith Cartwright
Michael Charles
Deane Collinson
Judy Collinson
Kathryn Cottingham
Brenda Dinnick, Founding Chair
Sarah Dinnick
Colleen Duggan
Jennifer Egsgard
Helen Graham
Daniel Guttman
Nancy Hamm
Donna Ivey
Wendy Keys, Founding Member
Raja Khouri
Linda Kristal
Jacquie Labatt
Elizabeth Levitt
Louise Levitt
Michael MacMillan
Renu Mandhane
Margaret McCuaig-Johnston
Judy McLean
Errol Mendes
Michelle Meneley
Ziyaad Mia
Sarah Milroy
Lyndsay Morrison
Vina Nadjibulla
Jennifer Pagnutti
Erna Paris
Roger Parkinson
Kim Pate
Penny Pepperell
Valerie Percival
Robert Peterson
Allan Rock, Ottawa Chair
Caitlin Sainsbury
Kim Samuel-Johnson
Poonam Sarin
Vinay Sarin
Bruce Simpson
Heather Spinks
Helga Stephenson, Founding Chair
Kathryn Trevenen

Sally Armstrong
Lloyd Axworthy
Atom Egoyan
Paul Heinbecker
Norman Jewison
Stephen Lewis
Margaret MacMillan
Deepa Mehta
Brian Stewart

Ottavio Cicconi
Gerry Conway
Carol Devine
Judith Hinchman
Merle Kriss
Emma Naughton
James Ron
Myra Sable
Allan & Helaine Shiff