Previous PageTable Of Contents


This report was researched and written by A. Widney Brown, consultant with the Women's Rights Division of Human Rights Watch. The report was edited by Regan E. Ralph, executive director of the Women's Rights Division, with invaluable editorial oversight from Cynthia Brown, program director of Human Rights Watch, and Allyson Collins, senior researcher with Human Rights Watch. Dinah PoKempner, counsel for Human Rights Watch provided legal review. Special thanks to Kerry McArthur for her assistance throughout the research, writing, and editing of this report.

This report would not have been possible without the courageous cooperation of the women in Michigan prisons who agreed to speak with Human Rights Watch. We also wish to thank the attorneys working on the Nunn suit, in particular, Deborah LaBelle and Molly Reno, and corrections officers who agreed to speak with us.

We would also like to thank the Ford Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Sandler Family Supporting Fund, and the Sister Fund for their generous support of our work.

Human Rights Watch Women's Rights Division

Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.

We stand with victims and activists to bring offenders to justice, to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom and to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime.

We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable.

We challenge governments and those holding power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.

We enlist the public and the international community to support the cause of human rights for all.

The staff includes Kenneth Roth, executive director; Michele Alexander, development director; Reed Brody, advocacy director; Carroll Bogert, communications director; Cynthia Brown, program director; Barbara Guglielmo, finance and administration director; Jeri Laber, special advisor; Lotte Leicht, Brussels office director; Patrick Minges, publications director; Susan Osnos, associate director; Jemera Rone, counsel; Wilder Tayler, general counsel; and Joanna Weschler, United Nations representative. Jonathan Fanton is the chair of the board. Robert L. Bernstein is the founding chair.

Its Women's Rights Division was established in 1990 to monitor violence against women and gender discrimination throughout the world. Regan E. Ralph is the executive director; LaShawn R. Jefferson is the deputy director; Samya Burney, Chirumbidzo Mabuwa, and Martina Vandenberg are research associates; Kerry McArthur and Laura Rusu are the associates; and A. Widney Brown and Roya Boroumand are consultants. Kathleen Peratis is chair of the advisory committee and Nahid Toubia is the vice chair.

Web Site Address:
Listserv address: To subscribe to the list, send an e-mail message to with "subscribe hrw-news" in the body of the message (leave the subject line blank).

Previous PageTable Of Contents

This Web page was created using a Trial Version of Transit Central Station 3.0.