The California Committee South (CCS) is a dedicated group of volunteers who support Human Rights Watch (HRW) in Southern California through outreach, advocacy, and fundraising. Founded over 20 years ago by Jane Olson and Stanley Sheinbaum, the Committee includes more than 80 members in Los Angeles from a variety of backgrounds and professions. Members make a financial commitment to Human Rights Watch and meet regularly to learn about human rights issues, sponsor policy debates, and generate support for the organization and its mission.

Founded in 1998, the Human Rights Watch Council is a global network of individuals and committees that support the organization through fundraising, outreach and advocacy. Council members are active ambassadors for Human Rights Watch in their communities, building our global defense of human rights and providing us with a strong presence in key cities and countries. Composed of more than 550 opinion leaders from a variety of backgrounds, the Council seeks to advance the mission of Human Rights Watch to investigate human rights abuses worldwide and press for the change needed to protect vulnerable people everywhere.

Executive Committee
Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Co-Chair
Sid Sheinberg, Co-Chair
William D. Temko, Co-Chair
Susi Bahat
Pam Bruns
Tamar Chafets
Nancy Cushing-Jones
Jonathan Feldman
Shari Leinwand, Co-Chair Emeritus
Kimberly Marteau Emerson, Co-Chair Emeritus
Miriam Muscarolas
David Ondaatje
Liz Ondaatje
Deborah S. Ramo
Rica Rodman
Lorraine Sheinberg
Barbara Silberbusch
Arthur F. Silbergeld
Hannah Skvarla
Patricia Williams

Jane Olson, Co-Founder
Mike Farrell, Co-Chair Emeritus
Victoria Riskin, Co-Chair Emerita

Committee Members
Robert Abernethy
Aileen Adams
Jeri Alden
Julie Araskog
Reverend Ed Bacon
Dr. Joan Willens Beerman
Peter Blake
Teree Bowers
Sarah Bowman
Kristin Ceva
Melanie Chapman
Bruce Cohen
Carolyn Conrad
Dena Cook
Geoffrey Cowan
Gary Dartnall
Ellen Carol DuBois
John Eisendrath
Trish Flumenbaum
William Flumenbaum
Mary Garvey
Frank Gehry
Maggie Guerin
Ahmos Hassan
Jeanie Hatch
Paul Hoffman
David Johnson
Claudia Kahn
Richard Kendall
Reverend James Lawson Jr.
Jennifer Levin
Ronald S. Lushing
Brian Matthews
Kevin McDowell
Barry Meyer
Mary Micucci
Elaine Mitchell Attias
John Moser
Stanley Newman
Bradley S. Phillips
Tom Pollock
Zazi Pope
Sandy Pressman
Jim Ramo
Dan Reid
William Resnick
David W. Rintels
Ramona Ripston
Erica Rothschild
Harley Rouda Jr.
Marc M. Seltzer
Robert W. Shaffer, Jr.
Stanley K. Sheinbaum
Jon Sheinberg
Carol Silbergeld
Michael Small
Wendy Smith Meyer
Marcus Spiegel
Javier Stauring
Michael Stubbs
Kaira Sturdivant Rouda
Janet Unterman
Tom Unterman
Elizabeth Wiatt
Chic Wolk
Edward Woods
January Woods
Noah Wyle
Pardis Zomorodi